Search human-readable description of the message we trying to accomplish.

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children’s Book Awards 2018

19 June 2018

The UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards.

About the awards

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people. Previous winners include: Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman, Patrick Ness, and Penelope Lively

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people. Previous winners include: Raymond Briggs, Shirley Hughes, Janet Ahlberg, Lauren Child and Quentin Blake

Now one of the main national reading for pleasure initiatives, the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Awards Shadowing scheme engages thousands of children and young people in reading the books on the shortlist via reading groups in schools and public libraries with dedicated educational and digital resources to support each shortlist.

This year's winners:

Geraldine McCaughrean’s book “Where the World Ends” is her second Carnegie medal having first won in 1988. Her story was inspired by an historical record from the 18th century and explores the fates of a group of men and boys who find themselves stranded on a remote and inhospitable sea stack near St Kilda after their return boat mysteriously fails to turn up.

First time winner Sydney Smith was awarded the Kate Greenaway medal for his illustrations for “Town is by the sea”. This picture book depicts a day in the life of a boy growing up in a coal mining town in the 1950s, contrasts a child's life of play with that of the adult world of work, with the bright world above ground juxtaposed with the perilous subterranean world of a mining pit. For inspiration Smith visited a miner's museum in the town where the story was set to get a feel for the place and you can see the influence of artists such as J.M.W. Turner and L.S. Lowry in his stunning illustrations.

If you fancy reading these or the past winners for yourself, or sharing them with friends an family, you can search for them on the ARU library website and request them to be sent to your campus if they’re not already available.

Topics: Library resources